Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Like Us
A programme by
Галактический монстр показывает свою изнанку
20 February 2013, Samara

На этой картинке вы видите мощный разрушающий лазерный луч из «Звездных войн» или нечто подобное из фантастических фильмов, и едва ли такое может на самом деле существовать! Но такое происходит в центре многих активных галактик во Вселенной. Галактический центр буквально изрыгает огромное количество энергии – ярче 100 нормальных галактик!

И хотя этот рисунок художника очень впечатляет, но он не является реальной фотографией, он основан на первом 3D наблюдении квазара – это астрономический класс ядер активных галактик! Наблюдение астрономического объекта в 3D является сложной задачей. Кроме того, объект вращается, создавая дополнительные трудности, так как он наблюдается все время под разными углами. Но нам невероятно сильно повезло в этом случае: гигантское скопление галактик лежащее между Землей и квазаром.

Оно перекрывало от нас квазар, гравитационное поле скопления галактик было настолько велико, что изогнуло лучи света от квазара, и мы их увидели. То есть свет огибает скопление, и мы можем видеть квазар с Земли. Более того, скопление изгибает свет так сильно, что мы можем видеть квазар с нескольких сторон! Таким образом, астрономы впервые получили 3D изображение этих необычных галактик!

Новые факты

Вселенная создает различные структуры, находящиеся в едином гравитационном поле. Звезды объединены в галактиках, а галактики собираются вместе в скопления. Наша Галактика является частью скопления Дева, в котором находится более 2000 других галактик!

Share:

Images

Monster Galaxy Shows Us Another Side of Itself
Monster Galaxy Shows Us Another Side of Itself

Printer-friendly

PDF File
1018.0 KB

Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Like Us
A programme by
Monster Galaxy Shows Us Another Side of Itself
20 February 2013

This looks like a picture of the powerful, planet-destroying laser beam from Star Wars or something else straight out of a sci-fi film, and it almost could be! What we're looking at is the centre of one of the most active galaxies in the Universe. Galaxy centres like this spew incredible amounts of energy – they are brighter than about 100 normal galaxies combined!

Although this picture is an artist's impression and not a real photograph, it is based on the first real 3-D observations of a quasar – this is what astronomers call these active galaxy centres! Seeing an astronomical object in 3D is no easy task. Unless the object is rotating, it is very difficult to see from more than one angle. But an unlikely hero came to our rescue in this case: an enormous cluster of galaxies lying between Earth and the quasar.

It sounds odd, but instead of blocking out the view of the quasar, the gravitational pull of the galaxy cluster was so strong that it bent the beams of light coming from the quasar as it travelled past. Because of this, the light travelled around the cluster and we were able to observe the quasar from Earth. Even better, the cluster bent the light so that we could see light coming from different sides of the quasar at once! This gave astronomers the first ever 3-D view of one of these monster galaxies!

Cool Fact

The Universe is made up of various structures held together by gravity. Stars are collected together into galaxies and galaxies are collected together into galaxy clusters. Our galaxy, the Milky Way, is part of the Virgo Cluster along with about 2000 other galaxies!

More information

 This Repeated of is based on an .

Share:

Images

Monster Galaxy Shows Us Another Side of Itself
Monster Galaxy Shows Us Another Side of Itself

Printer-friendly

PDF File
1.0 MB