Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
Вселенная потеряла литий
11 September 2014, Samara

Возможно, вы слышали фразу "вы созданы из звездной пыли" - и это правда. Многие из частиц, составляющих ваше тело, и мир вокруг вас, были образованы внутри звезд миллиарды лет назад. Но есть некоторые материалы, которые сформировались в самом начале, после рождения Вселенной.
Некоторые астрономы считают, что они появились всего через несколько минут после Большого Взрыва. Самые распространенные элементы во Вселенной это водород и гелий, и очень малое количество такого химического вещества как литий.
Астрономы могут с небольшой точностью определить, сколько лития было в молодой Вселенной. Для этого нужно исследовать самые старые звезды. Но полученные результаты не совпадают – в старых звездах оказалось в 3 раза меньше лития, чем ожидалось обнаружить! Причина этой загадки пока неизвестна.
До сих пор мы могли искать литий только в ближайших к нам звездах нашей Галактики. И вот группа астрономов смогла определить уровень содержания лития в звездном скоплении за пределами нашей Галактики.
На снимке показано это шаровое звездное скопление, которое обозначается Мессье 54. За более чем 200 лет после его открытия оно считалось похожим на такие же другие скопления в нашей Галактике. Но в 1994 г. выяснилось, что оно на самом деле находится в совершенно другой галактике удаленной более чем в 3 раза по сравнению с расстоянием от Земли до центра Галактики!
Исследования показали, что уровень лития в нем сравним с количеством его в скоплениях нашей Галактики. Это может и не величайшее открытие, но говорит о том, что низкий уровень лития был не только в нашей Галактике.

Новые факты

Возможно, вы слышали, что литий достаточно распространенный элемент в нашей жизни. Он используется в компьютерах, автомобилях и телефонных батарейках.

Share:

Images

The Universe's Lost Lithium
The Universe's Lost Lithium

Printer-friendly

PDF File
1.2 MB

Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Like Us
A programme by
The Universe's Lost Lithium
11 September 2014

You may have heard the phrase ‘you are made of stardust’ — and it’s true. Many of the particles making up your body and the world around you, were forged in the hearts of stars billions of years ago. But there are some materials that have a much older origin, at the very start of the Universe.

Just a few minutes after the Big Bang, astronomers think that certain elements (materials) started forming. These include hydrogen and helium, the most common elements in the Universe along with tiny amounts of a chemical called lithium.

Astronomers can calculate with quite a bit of confidence exactly how much lithium there should have been in the early Universe. From this, they can work out how much lithium we should see in old stars. But these two numbers don’t match — there is about three times less lithium in stars than expected! The reason for this remains a mystery to this day.

Up to now we’ve only been able to measure the amount of lithium in nearby stars, in the Milky Way. But a team of astronomers has now managed to study the levels of lithium in a group of stars far beyond our Galaxy.

This crowded photograph shows a star cluster called Messier 54. For more than two hundred years after its discovery, Messier 54 was thought to be similar to the other Milky Way globular clusters. But in 1994 it was discovered that it actually lies in an entirely separate galaxy, more than three times as far from Earth as the centre of our Galaxy!

The new study has shown that the levels of lithium in the star cluster are similar to those within the Milky Way. This might not sound like a scientific break-though, but it does tell us that whatever caused the low-levels of lithium probably happened all over the Universe, not just in our Galaxy.

Cool Fact

You might not have heard of Lithium, but it can be found in many common items that you use every day including computers, cars and phone batteries.

Share:

Images

The Universe's Lost Lithium
The Universe's Lost Lithium

Printer-friendly

PDF File
1.2 MB